Unit One….Complete!

“Shoot for the moon, because even if you miss you miss, you’ll land in the stars.”  Les Brown

stars

Photo Credit: princer7 via Compfight cc

These last two weeks my class has been busy learning more about digital citizenship through completing more lessons created by Common Sense Media.  My class have worked on the two remaining lessons from unit one.  The first lesson we completed was called Keep It Private.  The big ideas and concepts for the students to learn about were privacy, safety, knowing what personal information is, and how to create a username.  The essential question for the lesson was, “What kinds of information should I keep to myself when I use the Internet?”  As a class we  had a conversation and we brainstormed ideas about personal information and what they thought personal information was.  Later on we discussed why it was important not to share our personal information with people we do not know when we are talking to someone online and in person.

I also showed my students two videos that talks about Internet safety and personal information.  For the second video called “What is Personal Information?” I found a Kindergarten to Grade Three version and a Grade Four to Grade Six version.

Here are the videos that my students watched:

*Internet Safety for Kids K-3 Video- This video talks about the Internet safety and about keeping personal information private.

*NetSafe Episode 2: What is Personal Information? (Grades K-3)-This video discusses how a person has personal information and tells the viewers what personal information is.

*NetSafe Episode 6: What is Personal Information? (Grades 4-6)-This video explains what personal information is your private property and why it is important to keep personal information to yourself.

From watching the two short videos my students were able to compare their answers and see if the ideas they wrote down were similar to what the video said about personal information.  After my students understood what personal information was and why they need to keep their personal information private we talked about what to do if a game asked you to create a username.  We discussed that they needed to create a username that did not include their personal information such as their name, age, phone number, or where they live.   We became detectives and read different usernames!  Together we decided if the usernames told personal information or not!  After my students created and brainstormed three usernames that we could use that did not include personal information along with their learning buddies.

You can see my student’s work on our classroom blog, Keeping Your Identity Private.  On the blog post I explained what my students learned about in the lesson and at the end of the post you can see pictures of all of my students username ideas.  After they were done creating their usernames my students wrote a blog post explaining what they know about personal information and how to stay safe.  I encourage you read my student’s reflections!   Secret Agent #5’s wrote a post called No Sharing Your StuffSecret Agent #15 wrote about staying safe and Secret Agent #15 talked about safety as well.  All of my students did a fantastic job!  Teaching this lesson I was able to cover quite a few outcomes from the curriculum while teaching my students about digital citizenship.

ELA Outcome: CR2.3

Listen and retell (with support from the text) the key literal and inferential ideas (messages) and important details heard in small- and large-group activities, and follow oral directions and demonstrations.

  • Listen courteously during discussions and while working in pairs and small groups to share ideas, obtain information, solve problems, and ask and respond to relevant questions.

ELA Outcome: CC2.4

Write stories, poems, friendly letters, reports, and observations using appropriate and relevant details in clear and complete sentences and paragraphs of at least six sentences.

  • Write a response with supporting details.

ELA Outcome: AR2.1

Reflect on and assess their viewing, listening, reading, speaking, writing, and other representing experiences and strategies by participating in discussions and relating work to a set of criteria (e.g., “What did I learn?”).

  • Explain strategies used and why they were used.

Health Outcome: USC2.5

Recognize potential safety risks in community “play areas” and determine safe practices/behaviours to identify, assess, and reduce the risks.

  • Examine expected behaviours and general safety rules in community “play areas”
  • Discuss how safety rules/guidelines are established to reduce risks.

Health Outcome: DM2.1

Demonstrate how, why, and when to ask for help and/or advice when discovering healthy connections related to thoughts-feelings-actions, healthy snacking, affects of illness/disease, respect, safety, and diversity.

  • Determine safety supports (e.g., teachers, peers, elder, bus driver, significant and trusted adults) in the community.
  • Practice asking for help in appropriate situations and recognize possible consequences of not asking for help.

Social Studies Outcome: PA2.3

Analyze rights and responsibilities of citizens in the school and local community.

  • Differentiate between the nature of the rights of children and of adult citizens in the community.
email pic

Photo Credit: Nicola since 1972 via Compfight cc

I also taught my students another Common Sense Media lesson called Sending Email.  I was very happy with how the lesson went so I made sure we talked about the lesson on our classroom blog.  My class and I had a really good discussion after I asked m the essential question “how do you connect with others through email?”  My students talked about sending family and friends emails.  They also told me about their parents sending emails for work.  We had a good conversation about how people are able to send emails on the computer, on a tablet, and on a phone.  As a class we discussed why people send messages and talked about mailing letters.  We also watched a video that gives students tips on how to show etiquette when emailing others.


In ELA my students have been learning how to write letters so this lesson was perfect for my students.  We reviewed all of the important parts of a letter that need to be included and then the whole class wrote a letter together.  After each student was assigned to write a letter to their classmate.  As a class we brainstormed some ideas on what they could write about in their letter and questions they could ask their classmates.  Finally my students were able to start writing their own letter!  They are beginning to improve in their writing skills and are starting to understand how a letter is formatted.  I know we will be continuing to work on this form of writing.  During recess I scanned all of my student’s letters and posted their work onto their individual blogs since I have not taught my students on how to insert photos and other media into their post.  This week we have been working on replying back to our classmate’s letters and setting criteria on what a good response should look like.  We have also been working on the “3C + Q Model” for commenting on blog posts that Jennifer Stewart-Mitchell @jstewiestewie shared with me!  We decided to follow the same type of format for writing a personal letter.  I am very grateful for all of the resources and tips that Jennifer has shared with me this semester and for helping me last year when I took EC&I831.  For this particular lesson I was also able to link grade two Saskatchewan curriculum outcomes from different subject areas to this lesson:

ELA Outcome: CR2.4

Read and demonstrate comprehension of grade-appropriate literary and informational texts read silently and orally by relating and retelling key events and ideas in sequence with specific details and discussing how, why, and what if questions.

  • Understand and apply the appropriate cues and conventions (pragmatic, textual, syntactical, semantic/lexical/morphological, graphophonic, and other) to construct and confirm meaning when reading.
  • Follow written instructions.

ELA Outcome: CC2.4

Write stories, poems, friendly letters, reports, and observations using appropriate and relevant details in clear and complete sentences and paragraphs of at least six sentences.

  • Write a friendly letter complete with date, salutation, body, closing, and signature.

Health Outcome: USC2.4

Examine social and personal meanings of “respect” and establish ways to show respect for self, persons, living things, possessions, and the environment.

  • Illustrate what respect looks like, sounds like, and feels like.

Arts Education Outcome: CP2.4

Contribute ideas when engaged in a variety of drama strategies (e.g., role, parallel play, journeys, meetings) and during periods of reflection.

  • Contribute to drama discussions with stories of own experience

I am very happy that I have worked through the first unit developed by Common Sense Media!  My students are beginning to learn important concepts about emails, online safety, protecting their personal information, how to search using the alphabet, and understanding their digital footprint.  I look forward to continue on this journey and teaching the other two units that Common Sense Media has created.  It is rewarding knowing that I am helping my students become good citizens by teaching them valuable lessons!

I Teach

Photo Credit: venspired via Compfight cc

Leave a Reply

