Which One Am I?

My mind has not turned off since I read and viewed all of the articles and videos for my EC&I832 class, especially since I watched the video called Do “Digital Natives” Exist?  This video explores “digital natives” and “digital immigrants.”  In the video they describe digital natives a group of people who were born and grew up along side technology.  They have an familiarity of the technology and can speak the digital language. Where as digital immigrants were not born into the digital world, but later in life became fascinated by and adopted many aspects of technology.  This “doesn’t just define an age range, but an intimate familiar with technology.”  The video explored that digital immigrants may gain an digital accent when they become more exposed to technology.

I could relate to what Jeannine Whitehorse commented on her blog.  I also spent more time exploring David White’s continuum of “Visitor and Residents.”  Like many of my classmates I prefer the wording and the ideas in David White’s video.  I liked White’s ideas better because it doesn’t assign people to groups based on age and population as it did in the first video. I agree with looking at residents and visitors as a continuum. When reading Andrew Foreman’s blog post I discovered that Jennifer Stewart-Mitchell and himself both prefer the continuum as it used the visitor and resident as a classification. White’s video explored that digital visitors may go online and search for a specific topic, book a holiday or pay bills and then goes back offline again.  Visitors are invisible as they do not leave any social traces online when interacting on the web in those spaces.  While a resident leaves their mark and identity through blogging, commenting, posting videos, posting pictures, and/or posting other forms of written work in a series of places or spaces online.  Residents live a portion of their lives out online. They choose to go online to be present with others and will leave a social trace and footprint.  Their identity and trace will continue to stay there even if the resident is offline.   When mapping out if you are a visitor or resident I like how there is a personal or institutional (professional) side to the map.  People interact with different forms of media and tools differently depending on why and how they want to use it. It can be easier to learn about technology by being immersed in it from a young age, but does not mean a person can not become fluent in a skills if they were not raised with it.  They can learn the digital language.  When looking at visitors and residents age is not the factor, but it is based on engagement.  It is a continuum and not just two solid groups.  I liked how on the video it was explained to be more grey and not just black or white.

Seeing the images on Jeremy Blacks’ and Jeannine’s blog posts inspired me to create my own map representing where I stand as a digital visitor and digital resident personally and institutionally (professionally).

I watched a video called “Are You A Digital Native or a Digital Immigrant?”  It had me reflect on the readings and the different videos that I viewed for our class and posts that fellow students have written.  Here are some of the highlights that I took away and some of the ideas from watching the video:

  • The impact of technology on young brains is as broad of a conversation like climate change. It can be highly controversial.  It made me reflect on many of my classmates posts that critically explore people using devices such as cellphones and if we are not as present in the experience when are using those types of devices.
  • It explored the brain and how if you practice juggling for a week then your brain is going to change.  It had the viewers imagine people sitting at their computer for ten years and using the internet and how that would change the brain.
  • The video explored how there is evidence that visual IQ is going up and spatial visualization skills are going up.
  • It mentioned how people are becoming better at multitasking and experts of dividing their attention. But commented that it may lead to a problem-too much information or overload is turning people into scattered thinkers.  Do you think people are becoming scattered thinkers?
  • Later it explored that people are not digesting the knowledge, but becoming consumers.
  • The video briefly introduced the term digital footprint.  It made me reflect on all the footprints I have left in the places and spaces.  I began to reflect on the places and spaces where I am a resistant and if I am a visitor in any spaces as well.
  • The video also explored research tasks and compared how two different generations gather information when performing the research task. The digital immigrant took around 3 to 3 1/2 minutes to find the answer on the Internet while the digital native took around 30 seconds. The digital native was able to find the answer quickly, but lacked evaluation skills. The digital native choose the first article in Google where the digital immigrant took more time and compared sites.  The digital immigrants answers were more correct than the digital native.  Are we teaching our students to become critical thinkers when researching and evaluating websites?  Do students lack evaluation skills?  If so how can we help our students learn evaluation skills?
  • The video discussed how text covered with links could lead to information being less absorbed than printed material.  What do you think?  I know I prefer text with links because the links usually allow me to get to know the topic better.  The links can help give me a bigger picture and presents me with more information of what I am reading and learning about.
  • During the video is also explored the idea of people being bombarded by e-mail, Twitter, ect. and that people go to responsive mode.  It discussed how we no longer give ourselves the gift of switching off.  That comment made me think of the “The IRL Fetish”  article written by Nathan Jurgenson.  I began to explore and think about how many people may believe if we turn or switch off our devices that we are offline.  Through the readings it has taught me that when people engage in spaces as a resident their identity and footprint will continue stay online.  Many spaces allow other people to interact with you even if you are not presently interacting in that space at the same time.  Do people need to take more time away from being present and interacting online?

I was happy to find this video because in one minute because I was able to show this to my husband to give him some insight into what I have been reading and viewing about over the past week and a half.  The video pointed out that a resident uses the web as a place to gather knowledge and build relationships.  A place where people create an identity online while connecting and contributing to an online community.  Where as a visitor uses the web more as a tool or using it for a specific goal.  At the end of the video it asks, “Which one are you?” This question opened the doors to a huge conversation between my husband and myself.  I feel I am more of a digital resident and my husband feels he is more of a digital visitor.  I have numerous e-mail accounts for work, university, and for personal use. I also have a classroom blog and a personal blog.  I use Twitter, Pinterest, Snapchat, and Facebook.  Some of those accounts are for personal use while others I use for professional use.  My husband feels he is more of a visitor because he usually just uses his e-mail daily while he rarely interacts on his Twitter and Facebook accounts.  The last time he was on Facebook was when he changed his status that he was married to me and the last time on Twitter he posted a Tweet back in April.  Damon and I are both the same age so according to the Do “Digital Natives” Exist?  Damon and I should both be “digital natives,” but that is not the case.  Just because we are the same age does not mean we have had similar experiences while growing up and similar experiences with technology now.  I appreciate the continuum more because it is not put people in a specific grouping based on age.  The continuum looks at how much a person engages in technology and in online spaces.  I appreciated reading Cortney’s blog post and reading her thoughts on feeling more like a “digital tourist.”  I think often times people want to tour and visit a new space before they become a resident at that particular place.  It takes time to feel comfortable in a new environment and to put yourself out there so the world can view, read, and listen to your opinions and what you have to offer the world.  All of the articles and viewings have given me a lot to think and reflect about.

So which one are you? 

Are you a digital resident or a digital visitor?  Can people be both? Or as Ashley mentions in her post “what is the point of the classifications?”

1 Comment

  1. Pingback: The Time Is Now…We need to educate our students about sharing | Justine Stephanson-Kyle's Blog

Leave a Reply

