Time to Let Students Start Making…

sylvia presentation

(Photo Credit: I took this picture with my iPhone during Sylvia Martinez’s Introduction Slide when she presented to my EC&I831 class.)

I had another great night of learning with Sylvia Martinez @smartinez along with my fellow #eci831 classmates on October 14th. We got to explore and learn about The Maker Movement. The quote that Sylvia shared written by Seymour really stood out in my mind. seymour papert (Photo Credit: I took this picture with my iPhone of another slide from Sylvia Martinez’s presentation when she presented to my EC&I831 class.)

I think so many times we as teachers sometimes do not provide enough opportunities for students to take leadership of their own learning and decide what they want to learn about. It made me reflect on the Early Learning Principles which I believe should be Principles of Learning. Check out an older blog post of mine that discusses the Early Learning Principles and my experiences.

While I was reading Adam Provost’s article many lines caught my eye especially when it was discussed that, “The best way to get into [the Maker Movement] is to model how we want our students to learn and build it up.”  He talked about a presenter named Jaymes Dec and how the presenter discusses that he is still learning too. I think it is important that we instill lifelong learning with our students no matter what age they are! I talk with my students about going to University, attending workshops, and the articles that I read. It is vital that students know that adults still are learning and discovering the world. Many times young children think that adults have all the answers. We do not have all the answers, but we can guide them in the right direction in how to find the answer. As discussed in one of our classes as a teacher if we use different strategies other than direct teaching we do not need to know all of the answers. The Maker Movement provides learners who are kinesthetic a chance to learn in a way that they can relate to and excel in. As Sylvia discussed in the beginning of her article, “Many teachers know that children learn best by doing.”  I agree with Sylvia and I can personally relate. I also find when I am able to complete hands on activities it also allows me to comprehend what I am learning about. It is important as a teacher to reach to all the different learners in the classroom and set up every child to succeed. Differentiation is important! Every child is an individual and we need to celebrate our differences because that is what makes us special.

Seeing all of the projects and ideas from Sylvia’s presentation such as using Lego and the 3D printer were very exciting. I first heard about 3D printing from “Grey’s Anatomy” as well Lisi @wlisi521. As Lisi mentions in her blog, “in the TV series, the doctors use 3D printer to make a heart for one patient with heart disease.” I never knew that some schools had 3D printers until this class. There are so many possibilities! I love how the Maker Movement allows students the chance to question and discover. While reading my fellow #eci831 classmates reflections and blog posts I learned so many great ideas. Jaylene @jaylenebrass1 discussed having a Maker Day and planning to complete the day along with the Global Cardboard Challenge. I never heard about the Cardboard Challenge until I read fellow students blogs and on Twitter. I think students participating in a Maker Day would allow students to develop their questions and problem solving skills while learning many more valuable skills. From reading Jaylene’s blog post I also learned about Zippity Zoom in Regina and that you can purchase many items that you can use for a Maker Day. I am excited to check out Zippity Zoom in the next time I am in the city.

If you want to learn more about making, tinkering, and engineering in the classroom setting Sylvia has a book that she has written along with Gary Stager. I encourage you to check it out! I am looking forward to reading it and becoming more knowledgeable about the Maker Movement.  I am hoping to continue to learn more about Maker Movement and how I can implement it into my grade two classroom. If you have any recommendations of resources about Maker Movement or ideas that I can do with my grade two students please let me know!

2 Comments

  1. I found Sylvia’s presentation fascinating as well. It’s all about that student-driven and hands-on learning that allows students to problem-solve and collaborate with others. I agree that having a Maker Day would be a great opportunity for students to make, tinker, question, and discover their own knowledge. This would be an excellent challenge for my Grade 5/6 students as well. Thanks for the idea!

    Like

Leave a Reply

