Life Is A Journey…

When I was growing up I always made a plan and set goals for myself. I enjoyed getting involved in school and extra-curricular activities.  Once I got to high school I had to opportunity to help teach dance at my studio to the younger students along with my dance teacher Tanya.  That experience opened my mind to the possibility of wanting to pursue a degree in education. Watching students develop their skills, get excited when they nailed a step, and grow as dancers was a rewarding experience. I knew that I wanted to continue to work with students and teach for the rest of my life. I am so happy that I decided to become a teacher. The exciting part about teaching is that every day and every year is never the same. Teaching is one profession that is always evolving with new curriculums, teaching strategies, resources, etc. so that can be challenging at times, but I love it!

Now I am continuing my journey by pursuing my master’s degree in curriculum and instruction. I always thought about going back to university after I got my bachelors degree and last year I talked about it often with my family, friends, and colleagues. With the support from everyone especially my fiancé I applied to go back to school. I am so glad that I did because taking classes at the University of Regina again has been an amazing experience. Now I am currently in my third master’s class that focuses on social media and open education. I am thrilled to explore the possibilities that this class has to offer! “Success is a journey, not a destination. The doing is often more important than the outcome” Arthur Ashe.

1 Comment

  1. Pingback: Bittersweet- My Final Graduate Class | Justine Stephanson's Blog

Leave a Reply

